About Us

Historical Perspective

The earliest people of this area, formerly known as Waikouaiti, were Rapuwai, Hâwea, and Waitaha, followed by Kati Māmoe and more recently, Kai Tāhu. They had many settlements along the eastern Otago Coast, some of which endure to today as the kaika or villages of this area. On a seasonal basis our tupuna traversed Otago and Murihiku, gathering food and other resources. Our shared interest in those inland areas continues to this day.

The takiwa of Kāti Huirapa ki Puketeraki centres on Karitane and extends from Waihemo to Purehurehu and includes an interest in Otepoti and the greater harbour of Ōtākou. The takiwa extends inland to the Main Divide sharing an interest in the lakes and mountains to Whakatipu-Waitai with Rūnanga in the South.

Kāti Huirapa Rūnaka ki Puketeraki Incorporated Society

The Incorporated Society was formed in 1990 to provide the  Rūnaka with a legal form. The need for a legal structure was becoming increasingly important to our community as we participated in the negotiations around the settlement of the Ngai Tāhu Claim and started to prepare ourselves for the post-settlement environment. Since that time the Incorporated Society has been the main means by which we have operated. However, the Incorporated Society has also formed a Trust that holds some land assets and an investment company called Pūketeraki Ltd.

The Annual General Meetings of all these entities are usually held on the first Sunday in November. The audited financial accounts are presented at that time. Triennial elections of the Incorporated Society take place every three years. 

Our guiding principles are manaakitaka, whanaukataka, kaitiakitaka, wairuataka, rakatirataka and kaikokiritaka.

The Executive

The Rūnaka Executive is elected at the Triennial General Meeting or a Special Meeting of the  Runaka . The Executive also have the power to co-opt to fill any casual vacancy. The maximum membership of the Executive is ten members including a Chairperson, a Deputy Chairperson and a Treasurer. For members of the Executive click here.

Te Rūnanga o Ngai Tāhu representative and alternate representative

The TRoNT representative and alternate representative are appointed by an Appointment Committee who themselves are elected by a Rūnaka Postal Voting process.

At the triennial meeting held in 2021, Matapura Ellison and Emma Wyeth were appointed respectively as the Representative and Alternate Representative.

Rūnaka Office

Since 1987 the  Rūnaka has employed people to carry out the work of the hapu. The first employees were funded through government initiatives such as the skills Maori Access Scheme, known as MACCESS. Then in 1992 the  Rūnaka took up one of the first initiatives of Ngai Tahu Development Corporation who offered funding for  Rūnaka to build their administration capacity. Joy Smith was the sole administrator from 1992 until around 2000 when the  Rūnaka started to grow its paid administrative capacity.

Suzanne Ellison is the Runaka Manager and Jo SIlich is the Accounts Officer. Emma Davison is the Taituarā Matua -EA and Georgina George is the Office Administrator. George Meikle and Rob job share the grounds maintenance and have responsibility for the upkeep of buildings and grounds, urupa and reserves that the  Runaka is associated with. Mauraka is employed as Kaihāpai and Aroha Ellison is employed as Kaiawhina .Most of Aroha's time is taken up with marae related mahi but she also manages tamariki activities.

Other people are contracted for specific tasks as required and as funding allows.

Pūketeraki Ltd

In April 2001 at a General Meeting, the  Rūnaka agreed to establish a charitable company to administer the Rūnaka investments and advance their charitable objectives. It was agreed the company would be 100% owned by the Incorporated Society.

In 2003 a Steering Group of five members were mandated to advance the formation of the charitable company.

Puketeraki Ltd was incorporated on 2 December 2004. The current directors of the company are Jeffrey Broughton (Chair), Katharina Ruckstuhl, Roger Wyeth, Sam Inglis, Richie Smith and Graham Strong (Independent Director). 

Kāti Huirapa Rūnaka ki Puketeraki Strategic Plan 2013-2018

Ka whati te tai, ka pao te torea. When the tide recedes the torea strikes.

The  Rūnaka has developed a challenging strategic plan - Te tapu o te takata - for the wellbeing of our people.

Click here for the plan summary
Click here for the full plan

Rūnaka Aspirations

Click this link http://tahufm.com/prag-2016-refresh-live-stream/ for the Papatipu Rūnanga Aspirations Group (PRAG) 2016 Refresh Part II, which was held on Sunday 18th September 2016 at Te Whare o Te Waipounamu. Kati Huirapa's presentation, by Matapura Ellison and Katharina Ruckstuhl, starts at 2:38:27

Contact Us

P 03 465 7300


Marae:  520 Apes Road, Karitane, Otago - NZ
Office: 121 Grimness St, Karitane, Otago - NZ